Latest News

The Society of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section

Home / Latest News / 2023 Student Bursary Award Winners Announced
2023 Student Bursary Award Winners Announced

2023 Student Bursary Award Winners Announced

February 2023

With the judging process for 2023 student bursary awards now complete, SPE Aberdeen are delighted to award a total of £20,000 in bursaries. The section supports 5 universities across Scotland (Heriot-Watt University, Robert Gordon University, University of Aberdeen, University of Dundee and the University of Strathclyde) and the section’s student bursary awards have been in the universities’ calendars for over 40 years. During this time the section has awarded over £500,000 in bursaries.

The bursaries are awarded to students currently undertaking energy-related degrees at various levels, from undergraduate to PhD. Each applicant was judged on the quality of their academic work, their intent to embark upon a career in the energy industry and their active involvement with SPE. There were 37 applicants received, and after initial judging, we had 20 finalists, of which 12 were invited to present, online, and in person to a judging panel which consisted of SPE Aberdeen board members, SPE Aberdeen sponsors, industry professionals and SPE Aberdeen Student Development committee members. The presentations covered a range of topics including Energy Security, Climate Change, Skills Transfer and Energy Transition.

This final stage of the judging process resulted in the outstanding bursary of £3,000 being awarded to Agga Agga, who is studying for an MSc in Oil and Gas Engineering at Robert Gordon University, and two runner-up awards of £2,000 each to Kratika Khatri, a student at Robert Gordon University studying MSc in Accounting and Finance (Oil and Gas), and Efemena Claire Karieren, a student of Robert Gordon University studying MSc in Information Technology in the Energy Industry.

Agga Agga – RGU
Kratika Khatri – RGU
Kratika Khatri – RGU
Efemena Claire Karieren – RGU
Efemena Claire Karieren – RGU

A further 9 finalists were awarded £1,000:

Mohadesh MotieHeriot-Watt University
Zaid JangdaHeriot-Watt University
Mahdi Kalantari MeybodiHeriot-Watt University
Adeshina BadejoHeriot-Watt University
Rasool Amiri KolajoobiHeriot-Watt University
Friday Owuna JuniorHeriot-Watt University
Iina JutilaUniversity of Aberdeen
David ChedidRobert Gordon University
Mariah IchakpaRobert Gordon University

Elliot Kinch, Chair of the SPE Aberdeen Student Development Committee said: “It is great to be able to positively hold these bursary awards face to face, after the last couple of years, for restrictions for the students. This year, the quality of submissions was impressive and we were extremely encouraged by the students applications. The presentation stage of the judging process gave us the opportunity to meet, and personally engage with the finalists and hear the passion in their presentations, it really is exciting the future journey of these promising individuals. Their professionalism, and commitment to the process was clear and made the judging a tough but inspiring and rewarding experience. It is again fantastic to see, year after year, the calibre of the students and the passion they have for the energy industry; as the industry looks to the next generation, and the energy transition going forward, i think the industry will be dealt in very good hands. Well Done to our 20 Finalists of 2023!

We will be looking to present our bursary winners with their certificates in a March get together, we will let you know how you can be part of this, including a live presentation from the Outstanding Award Winner, Agga Agga of Robert Gordon University.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section


We encourage everyone in the petroleum sector to join us and gain access to the events and knowledge that are unique to SPE Aberdeen.