Latest News

The Society of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section

Home / Latest News / 26 Students Presented With Bursary Awards Totalling £29,500
26 Students Presented With Bursary Awards Totalling £29,500

26 Students Presented With Bursary Awards Totalling £29,500

April 2019

SPE Aberdeen awards £29,500 of student bursaries Students at universities around the country have received a financial boost from the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section as part of its 2019 bursary programme. Each year, the bursaries are open to students studying oil and gas related subjects from the University of Aberdeen, Robert Gordon University, the University of Dundee, Heriot Watt University and the University of Strathclyde. More than 85 students, from undergraduate to PhD levels, applied for this year’s programme, with 26 awarded funding. A shortlist of students was selected and invited to attend an interview panel, which allowed judges to decide who the recipients of the top awards of £3000 would be. The five students are: Theresia Betty Sumarno - University of Dundee Xiang Shi - Heriot-Watt University Victoria Spooner - Heriot-Watt University Theodor Tufa - University of Aberdeen Yatin Suri - Robert Gordon University A further 8 students were awarded £1000 each. Farhan, Khan - University of Aberdeen Viktors Stepovojs - University of Aberdeen Ruissein Mahon - Robert Gordon University Adam Cawood - University of Aberdeen Ewan Campbell - University of Aberdeen Hidayat Miftah - University of Aberdeen Gillian Douglas - Heriot-Watt University Nko Victor Ugochukwu - University of Dundee A final 13 were awarded £500 Yakubu Balogun - Robert Gordon University Sam Head - Heriot-Watt University Emmanuel Eke - Robert Gordon University Alfredo Freites - Heriot-Watt University Aaron Tung - University of Aberdeen Joseph Sherratt - University of Aberdeen Kennedy Omoigui - Robert Gordon University Serveh Naderi - Heriot-Watt University Cameron Hogan - University of Strathclyde Christopher Ibeh - University of Strathclyde Gang Wang - Heriot-Watt University Odion Udebhulu - Robert Gordon University Suardi Nur - University of Dundee Ritika Pawar, Chair of the Student Development committee, said: “The SPE Aberdeen bursary programme has been a major source of student support for more than four decades and we are proud that this has continued, despite industry challenges over the years. “Once again, entries presented our judging panel with a challenging task however we have been extremely encouraged by the calibre of the students and their clear future potential. The interview stage also allowed us to meet and hear more from these promising individuals and like previous years, this process did not disappoint. “Sharing technical knowledge is at the core of SPE and as much as this applies on a peer-to-peer basis, it is even more important that we share this knowledge and support our industry’s future generation.” Each of the students were presented with their awards at SPE Aberdeen’s monthly technical meeting on 27 March at the Sandman Signature Hotel Aberdeen.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section


We encourage everyone in the petroleum sector to join us and gain access to the events and knowledge that are unique to SPE Aberdeen.