Latest News

The Society of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section

Home / Latest News / Winners of 2022 SPE Aberdeen Student Bursary Awards Announced
Winners of 2022 SPE Aberdeen Student Bursary Awards Announced

Winners of 2022 SPE Aberdeen Student Bursary Awards Announced

March 2022

Winners of 2022 SPE Aberdeen Student Bursary Awards Announced

With the judging process for 2022 student bursary awards now complete, SPE Aberdeen was delighted to award a total of £11,500 in bursaries. The section supports 5 universities across Scotland (Heriot-Watt University, Robert Gordon University, University of Aberdeen, University of Dundee and University of Strathclyde) and the section’s student bursary awards have been in the universities’ calendars for over 40 years. During this time the section has awarded close to £500,000 in bursaries. The bursaries are awarded to students currently undertaking energy related degrees at various levels, from undergraduate to PhD. Each applicant was judged on the quality of their academic work, their intent to embark upon a career in the energy industry and their active involvement with SPE. There were 15 finalists of which 7 were invited to present, online, to a judging panel which consisted of SPE Aberdeen board members, SPE Aberdeen sponsors, industry professionals and SPE Aberdeen Student Development committee members. The presentations covered a range of topics including diversity, COVID-19, connectivity and sustainability. This final stage of the judging process resulted in the outstanding bursary of £1,500 being awarded to Puyan Bakhshi who is a PhD student at the Research Centre for Carbon Solutions, Heriot-Watt University. A further 6 finalists were awarded £1,000: Janet Zagah Kabor                          Robert Gordon University Emmanuel Eke Chibudike             Robert Gordon University Georgy Borisochev                          Heriot-Watt University Christine Enowmbi Tambe               University of Strathclyde Vikas Kooneti                                   University of Aberdeen Sobechukwu Anwunah                  Robert Gordon University  

A final 8 were awarded £500: Milena Zagulak                               University of Aberdeen Mariah Ichakpa                              Robert Gordon University Mohadeseh Motie                          Heriot-Watt University Ali KJameel hanoon Al-ali           Heriot-Watt University Precious Ogbeiwi                           Heriot-Watt University Kratika Khatri                                 Robert Gordon University Adamu Abdullahi Adamu             University of Aberdeen Eleftherios Herodotou                  University of Aberdeen Elliot Kinch, Chair of the SPE Aberdeen Student Development Committee said: “Similar to last year, this year’s student bursary awards had to be conducted virtually. Despite the challenges presented by the restrictions, the quality of submissions was impressive and we were extremely encouraged by the students. The presentation stage of the judging process gave us with the opportunity to meet, virtually, the finalists and hear the presentations of these promising individuals. Their professionalism and commitment to the process was clear and made the judging a tough but inspiring and rewarding experience. It is fantastic to see, year after year, the calibre of the students and the passion they have for the energy industry; going forward, the industry is very good hands. Sharing technical knowledge is at the core of SPE and it is important that we share this knowledge and support our industry’s future generations. The ongoing support of our members and the wider energy industry in Aberdeen and further afield, attending our events and remaining involved in our initiatives, makes it possible for us fund support for students and school pupils, encouraging our industry’s next generation and future leaders. We wish all the award recipients all the best in their future studies and careers.” On receipt of his award, Vikas Kooneti, MSc student at the University of Aberdeen, commented: “SPE Aberdeen has always given the best support to students through various platform including the student bursary awards. The bursary programme encourages the students to be an active participant at their university; the actual application process was really interesting and innovative. Being part of SPE and supporting the energy industry is an amazing experience and I would like to thank SPE Aberdeen for recognizing me and honouring me with the student bursary award.”

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section SPE Aberdeen Section


We encourage everyone in the petroleum sector to join us and gain access to the events and knowledge that are unique to SPE Aberdeen.