2014 OAA Finalists Announced

January 2014

p>The shortlist for this year's Offshore Achievement Awards was announced today {Monday 13 January, 2014}, and recognises some of the very best talent and successes from across the UK offshore industry.

The awards, organised and hosted by the Society of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section with the support of principal sponsor TAQA, celebrate exceptional performance across a range of categories including safety innovations, technology breakthroughs and company successes. The awards also recognise individual achievements, contribution to the offshore industry and collaborative working.

Ian Phillips, director of energy business consultancy Pale Blue Dot Energy Limited and the SPE Aberdeen board member responsible for organising the OAAs, said:

"The Offshore Achievement Awards once again highlight the pioneering work performed within the offshore oil and gas and renewables industry. This year's judges were extremely impressed by the talent that the UK industry has to offer.

"The awards showcase examples of true innovation and hard work, and present a superb opportunity for companies and individuals to be recognised by their peers. SPE Aberdeen hopes to inspire and encourage others to take a creative approach to their work in the offshore industry and to stand up and be recognised by telling their story."

The finalists for the 2014 Offshore Achievement Awards are:

  • Export Achievement (sponsored by Saltire Energy)
    EnerMech, EV, Tendeka
  • Safety Innovations (sponsored by Petrofac)
    AMEC, Stork Technical Services - ERBAS, Viper Subsea
  • Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen)
    Aubin Group, Guardian Global Technologies, Ocean Power Technologies
  • The Innovator (sponsored by BG Group)
    Paradigm Flow Services, Tendeka, Viper Subsea
  • Great Small Company (sponsored by Wood Group PSN)
    Accord Energy Solutions, Coretrax Technology, Viper Subsea
  • Great Large Company (sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership)
    DOF Subsea, Hydrasun, Wood Group
  • Working Together (sponsored by Aberdeen Business School)
    Alba Power, Britannia Operator, The Underwater Centre
  • Young Professional (sponsored by Maersk Oil)
    Liam O’Neil - AMEC, Duncan Chedburn - Maersk Oil, Raymond MacKenzie - Nexen Petroleum UK
  • Inspiring Leader (sponsored by DOF Subsea)
    Doug Duguid - EnerMech, Steve Nicol - Halliburton, Trevor Jee - Jee
  • Environmentalist (sponsored by AMEC)
    Cape Environmental Services Offshore, Stork Technical Services, TWMA
  • Significant Achievement (sponsored by Aker Solutions)
    will be announced on the evening.

The 28th awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 20 March at the Aberdeen Exhibition & Conference Centre and is set to attract an audience of more than 500 industry professionals from across the UK.

Sean Lock, one of the UK’s most highly acclaimed comedians and a team captain on popular comedy panel show 8 Out of 10 Cats, will host the awards ceremony and present trophies to each of the category winners.

This year's unique award trophies have been designed by Kayleigh Cummings of Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen. Kayleigh took part in a student competition organised by SPE Aberdeen to design the trophies. Her "split sphere" design features the award details in a glass disc concealed between the two hemispheres.

For further information about the awards or to book a table at the ceremony, please contact Mearns & Gill at: oaa@mearns-gill.com or call on (+44) 01224 646311.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.