2014 OAA Winners Announced

March 2014

Some of the offshore industry's most innovative and successful companies and individuals were recognised last night at the 2014 Offshore Achievement Awards, with Decom North Sea chief executive Brian Nixon picking up the Significant Achievement Accolade.

Hydrasun received the award for Great Large Company, whilst Coretrax was named Great Small Company. Steve Walton, highly-regarded across the industry as a driving force for improving safety, was received a posthumous Significant Achievement Award for the significant achievement he made during his career. His widow Anne Marie collected the award.

More than 500 industry professionals came together at the 28th OAA awards ceremony at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre. The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section organised and hosted the awards for the third consecutive year, with the support of main sponsor TAQA.

Talent, technology, safety and success were key themes. The two new categories for this year – Environmentalist and Inspiring Leader – were awarded to TWMA and Steven Nicol of Halliburton respectively.

Ian Phillips, director of Pale Blue Dot Energy Limited and a director of SPE Aberdeen, chaired the OAA organising committee. Talking to the audience, he said:

"Judges were impressed with this year’s nominations, which were of an exceptionally high calibre and demonstrated expertise, innovation and great promise. We introduced two new categories to recognise the importance of environmental performance and strong leadership which proved popular. With record numbers of entries, all of the finalists should be extremely proud of themselves."

Anthony Onukwu, chairman of SPE Aberdeen, said:

"Since re-launching the OAAs three years ago, the awards have gone from strength to strength, attracting record breaking audiences and increasing entries each year. SPE Aberdeen is proud to support innovation and recognise success across the UK energy industry."

Brian Nixon, chief executive of Decom North Sea, said:

"I am absolutely thrilled and most grateful to receive this prestigious industry award. It couldn’t come at a more appropriate time, as I will shortly be 'decommissioning' myself and heading into partial retirement.

"I believe the award recognises not just my efforts, but also those of the quite exceptional team that I have at Decom North Sea, and in particular Sarah Hillyear. So I was delighted to accept the award on behalf of the whole DNS team."

The 2014 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:

  • Great Large Company (sponsored by Offshore Europe)
    Hydrasun - WINNER
  • Great Small Company (sponsored by Wood Group PSN)
    Coretrax - WINNER
  • Working Together (sponsored by Robert Gordon University)
    The Underwater Centre - WINNER
  • Environmentalist (sponsored by AMEC)
  • Export Achievement (sponsored by Saltire Energy)
  • Safety Innovations (sponsored by Petrofac)
    Stork – ERBAS - WINNER
  • The Innovator (sponsored by BG Group)
    Tendeka - WINNER
    Viper Subsea - HIGHLY COMMENDED
  • Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen)
    Guardian Global Technologies - WINNER
  • Young Professional (sponsored by Maersk Oil)
    Raymond MacKenzie, Nexen Petroleum UK - WINNER
  • Inspiring Leader (sponsored by DOF Subsea)
    Steve Nicol, Halliburton - WINNER
  • Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen)
    Brian Nixon, Decom North Sea - WINNER

For more information on the event please email:
oaa@mearns-gill.com or call Mearns & Gill on: (+44) 01224 646311.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.