Offshore Achievement Awards once again recognises the industry’s best and brightest

March 2015

The offshore energy industry’s highest achievers and most successful companies were recognised last night {Thursday, 12 March} at the 2015 Offshore Achievement Awards (OAA), with Gordon Ballard, chairman of Schlumberger UK, receiving the Significant Achievement accolade.

Great Large Company and Great Small Company were awarded to Proserv and Merlin ERD respectively, whilst Maersk Oil picked up two awards including the Outstanding Graduate Programme, a new category for 2015.

It was also a successful night for Murray Kerr of SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions, who not only received the Young Professional Award, but was also highly commended by the judges in the Inspiring Leader category.

The 29th awards ceremony, which saw attendance of more than 500 guests, took place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre and was hosted by well-known television presenter and maths expert, Rachel Riley. The Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen Section organised the awards, with the support of principal sponsor TAQA and supporting sponsor Rigzone.

Ian Phillips, SPE Aberdeen board member and chair of the OAA organising committee, said:

"The awards have yet again delivered beyond our expectations, with all of the winners demonstrating remarkable innovation, ambition and potential." "SPE Aberdeen’s commitment to encouraging and supporting the future workforce led to the introduction of the Outstanding Graduate Programme Award this year, which saw an exceptionally high calibre of entries. It is hugely encouraging to see the efforts being made by companies large and small to develop new talent into our industry" "Choosing a winner was extremely tough for the judges and all the finalists should be justifiably proud of themselves."

Ross Lowdon, chairman of SPE Aberdeen, said:

"During these challenging times it has become too easy to lose sight of the hard work, commitment and success of companies and individuals that continues to happen. The awards have allowed us to take some time out to acknowledge and celebrate talent in the sector and SPE Aberdeen is proud to support such an important event in the industry calendar."

Gordon Ballard, VP Industry Affairs and Chairman at Schlumberger UK, received the Significant Achievement Award. He said:

"I am very happy to receive this significant recognition. I have been a proud member of the SPE for almost 34 years and have had the wonderful privilege to work with some of the best minds and talents within our industry."For me, the SPE has always been about helping push technological frontiers that redefine our energy landscape. As a professional society, SPE has been outstanding in providing a framework to share experiences and knowledge, ensuring that no lesson – positive or negative – has to be learned twice."

The 2015 Offshore Achievement Award winners in each category are:

  • Emerging Technology Award (sponsored by Nexen)
    Delphian Ballistics
  • The Innovator Award (sponsored by Maersk Oil)
    Expro North Sea
  • Safety Innovations Award (sponsored by the Met Office)
    The Survitec Group
  • Environmentalist Award (sponsored by TWMA)
    CETCO Energy Services
  • Export Achievement Award (sponsored by Stork)
    Alba Power
  • Working Together Award (sponsored by OPITO)
    Maersk Oil
  • Outstanding Graduate Programme Award (sponsored by Robert Gordon University)
    Maersk Oil
  • Young Professional Award (sponsored by Nalco Champion)
    Murray Kerr, SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions
  • Inspiring Leader Award (sponsored by MOL Group)
    Dr Liane Smith, Wood Group Intetech
    HIGHLY COMMENDED: Murray Kerr, SengS Subsea Engineering Solutions
  • Great Small Company Award (sponsored by Wood Group PSN)
    Merlin ERD
  • Great Large Company (sponsored by Offshore Europe)
  • Significant Achievement Award (sponsored by Aker Solutions)
    Gordon Ballard, chairman, Schlumberger UK

For more information on the event please email: or call Mearns & Gill on: (+44) 01224 646311.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.