Finalists announced for Offshore Achievement Awards 2017

January 2017

Finalists for the 2017 Offshore Achievement Awards, sponsored by TAQA, were announced today. 

This year saw a staggering number of high quality entries from across the industry, making it a hard task for our judges to whittle the nominations down to our shortlisted nominees. 

The 2017 Offshore Achievement Awards finalists are:

Emerging Technology (sponsored by Nexen)

M-FLOW Technologies
PlanSea Ltd

Innovator (sponsored by OGIC)

Churchill Drilling Tools
Delphian Ballistics
Enpro Subsea

Safety Innovations (sponsored by Offshore Europe Partnership)

Cape plc
Cyberhawk Innovations

Environmental Innovation 


Export Achievement

Churchill Drilling Tools
Cyberhawk Innovations
JDR Cable Systems Ltd


Decom North Sea
Maersk Oil/Amec Foster Wheeler/Bilfinger Salamis
Wood Group

Outstanding Skills Development Programme (sponsored by Heriot Watt University)

Fabricom Offshore Services

Young Professional (sponsored by BP)

Marianne McKevitt - BP
Richard Eckersley - Nexen Petroleum U.K. Limited
Mandy Johnstone - N-Sea
Sam Lisney - Petrofac EPS West
Richard Turner - RS Clare & Company Ltd
Natalie Jackson - Shell U.K. Ltd

Please note that each of the above will be invited to take part in a filmed interview session with a panel of impartial judges. From there, three finalists will be selected and the winner will be announced on the night.

Above and Beyond

Mandy Marriner – JDR Cable Systems Ltd
Bob Banks - Petrofac EPS West
Sam Lisney - Petrofac EPS West
Sharon Robertson – Wood Group

Great Small Company (sponsored by Wood Group PSN)

Churchill Drilling Tools
Enpro Subsea
Step Change Engineering

Great Large Company 

Aker Solutions
JDR Cable Systems Ltd
Wood Group

Significant Contribution (sponsored by Aker Solutions)

Announced at the ceremony

Ian Phillips, chairman of SPE Aberdeen and chief executive of the Oil and Gas Innovation Centre, said: 

“The sheer quality and variety of entries we have received this year reflects everything that is great about our industry, particularly our ability to adapt to a volatile economic environment. It’s clear that service companies have truly risen to the challenge, providing operators with some of the world’s most advanced technology whilst remaining as cost effective as possible. 
“As ever, our esteemed panel of industry experts have spent a significant amount of time judging each entry before selecting the strongest contenders. I would like to congratulate all those who have been shortlisted for the 2017 awards, and I look forward to celebrating the winners at the ceremony in March.”

Donald Taylor, acting managing director for TAQA Europe said: 

“It is reassuring to see so many companies and individuals taking the time to share their success stories and enter into the awards this year.  The quality of the entries, particularly those shortlisted,  demonstrates how much the industry is still driving forward, finding innovative solutions and efficiencies against a persistently challenging background.”

The winners will be announced at a black tie ceremony on Thursday the 23rd of March at the Aberdeen Exhibition & Conference Centre. To book your place at the ceremony, visit our tickets page for more information. 

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.