OAAs all set to reward industry innovation

September 2016

Launched today at this year’s Intelligent Energy conference, and following a record 30th anniversary year, along with Principal Sponsor TAQA, we are looking forward to hearing the success stories of both companies, and individuals, when entries open on 3 October

As in previous years, entries are welcome from both the offshore oil & gas and renewables sectors.

Categories this year will continue to feature a heavy focus on technology with The Innovator, Emerging Technology, Safety Innovations and Environmental Innovation Awards remaining an important part of the line-up.

Similarly, individuals will be eligible for the Young Professional, Above and Beyond and Significant Contribution categories, whilst companies can apply for the Great Large and Great Small businesses, Outstanding Skills Development Programme, Export Achievement and Collaboration.

This year will see the return of SPE Aberdeen director, Ian Phillips as chairman of the awards. Ian is also Chief Executive of the Oil and Gas Innovation Centre, and part of the Intelligent Energy 2016 Executive Committee. 

Ian said: 

“In the middle of a significant downturn, last year’s awards were an encouraging boost for the offshore industry, and a reminder that innovation and collaboration are still a vital part of the current much-needed cost-reduction efforts.

“A key part of ensuring this innovation continues is by encouraging the development of new ideas and technologies, which is why Intelligent Energy is such a perfect platform to launch this year’s awards. The conference theme, ‘New Horizons: Intelligent Energy in a Changing World’, is completely aligned with SPE’s mission to exchange knowledge related to exploration, development and production, the foundation of the Offshore Achievement Awards.
“With just under a month until entries open for this year’s awards, we again urge anyone with a success story to come forward and be recognised. Previous winners have used the OAA accolade in a number of ways, from peer endorsement of their technology, to recognition of their workforce. We hope to see the 2017 finalists and winners continue to build upon this momentum.” 

Last year’s Significant Contribution winner, Dan Purkis, was part of the opening breakfast for this year’s Intelligent Energy. 

He said: 

“Winning the 2016 Significant Contribution Award wasn’t just a great honour, it has also served as a platform for recognition, aiding Well-SENSE’s exposure and leading to enquiries from operators and service companies around the globe.
“I would wholeheartedly encourage those considering entering the awards to do so; celebrating success has never been more important.”

Entries from UK-registered companies operating within the renewables or the oil and gas industry will open on Monday 3 October, 2016. 

The 2016 Offshore Achievement Awards categories are:

• Emerging Technology 
• Innovator 
• Safety Innovations
• Environmental Innovation 
• Export Achievement 
• Collaboration 
• Outstanding Skills Development Programme 
• Young Professional
• Above and Beyond 
• Great Small Business 
• Great Large Business
• Significant Contribution

The awards are open for entries from Monday 3 October until Wednesday 30 November, 2016. Finalists will be announced mid January 2017. The black tie ceremony will take place at the Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre on Thursday 23 March, 2017. For further information and entry criteria, please visit our nominations page or get in touch

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.