The Offshore Achievement Awards

Home / News / Offshore Achievement Awards 2023 are officially launched!
Offshore Achievement Awards 2023 are officially launched!

Offshore Achievement Awards 2023 are officially launched!

September 2022

The 36th annual awards, supported by principal sponsor TAQA, will once again celebrate the successes of the offshore oil and gas and renewables industries, showcasing business growth and accomplishments, recognising outstanding individual achievements, and highlighting revolutionary technologies. Previous year’s ‘Net Zero’ award category has been replaced with two new categories to recognise organisations’ commitment to renewable energies and the energy transition. This year sees the introduction of the ‘Energy Transition’ award, which will recognise the efforts of an offshore company to decarbonisation of the energy system and/or achieving the industry target of net zero emissions. The second new category is the ‘Carbon Reduction In Conventional Assets’ award category, which will recognise the efforts of an offshore company to reduce the carbon footprint of their operations.

The ‘Exceptional Impact Company – SME’ award, previously named the ‘Great Company’ award, has been re-introduced this year to recognise SMEs who have been “punching above their weight” and who have achieved exceptional things in the industry.

The ‘Diversity and Inclusion’ category was introduced last year and received a wide range of entries which recognised excellence in developing and implementing policies, systems and practices that seek to nurture and support diversity and inclusivity in the offshore energy sector.

Last year’s ‘Young Professional’ award, sponsored by Harbour Energy once again saw the highest number of entries and is expected to be a popular award category this year, giving the sector confidence in future talent making their mark.

Kenny McAllister, chair of the Offshore Achievement Awards organising committee says, “At a time when the energy industry is so prevalent in the national discourse, we look forward to the 36th Offshore Achievement Awards when we recognise commitment to the industry and advancement of technologies, as individuals and organisations strive to innovate. The awards evolve with the industry, and it felt timely to introduce two new award categories this year to recognise the commitment to net zero and the energy transition as we continue to move forward and support each other on the journey.

It continues to be an exceptionally busy year for the industry and the OAA committee encourages individuals and organisations to step forward and be recognised.

I would also like to take the opportunity to thank principal sponsor TAQA, who continue to support the awards and welcome and thank EnergyVoice as our media partner for 2023.”

The OAAs remain a not-for-profit event, with any surplus generated from sponsorship and table sales directly invested back into events and initiatives organised by SPE Aberdeen to promote STEM subjects and support future generations. Activities supported by the SPE Aberdeen Section include student bursaries, CV workshops, TechFest and Space to Energy.

The full list of award categories for 2023 are:

  • Emerging Technology
  • Innovator
  • Internationalisation & Diversification
  • Outstanding Skills Development
  • Digital Innovation
  • Energy Transition
  • Carbon Reduction In Conventional Assets
  • Diversity & Inclusion
  • Exceptional Impact Company – SME
  • Young Professional
  • Significant Contribution

Entries are now open until 18th November 2022, with finalists announced in January 2023. Entries are open to all UK-registered companies within the oil & gas and renewables sectors – categories, criteria and application forms are available here.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony compered by television presenter Rachel Riley on 16th March 2023 at the P&J Live in Aberdeen.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.