Trophy Design Competition Returns For Second Year

December 2012

Four students at the Robert Gordon University Gray’s School of Art have been shortlisted in a competition to have trophy designs brought to life and presented to winners at the 27th Offshore Achievement Awards.

The competition was introduced last year by the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Aberdeen section to coincide with the re-launch of the awards. The 2011 winning design was created by Jessica Barr and the trophy received high praise from last year’s winners.

One of the two winning designs will become the trophies for the eight company awards winners, whilst the other design will be used for the two individual awards – lifetime achievement and young professional.

Students shortlisted this year are Ewan Gray, 21 from Orkney, Lucy Jamieson, 21 from Fife, Cara Walker, 23 from Glasgow and Isla Chlebowska, 20 from Edinburgh.

SPE board member Ian Phillips, director with Petrofac company CO2DeepStore Ltd., said:

"Last year, the collaboration between the Offshore Achievement Awards and the students at Gray's School of Art was a great success. We saw many eye-catching designs from the students which made choosing the winner a difficult task.

"This year, we are again looking for an innovative concept to present to the winners on the night of the ceremony. A key part of the awards is recognising future talent and potential, and SPE Aberdeen focuses on encouraging students and young people to become interested in the energy industry. This competition is a fantastic way to incorporate both of these aims and we are extremely excited to see what this year's students produce."

The 3 Dimensional Design course offers students the opportunity to explore work ceramics and glass, jewellery and product design and aims to gives students experience of the multidisciplinary design.

Simon Ward, lecturer on the 3 Dimensional Design course, said:

"The project was successful last year with a depth of creative responses from all of the students. The winning trophy design was displayed to a large audience on the evening of the awards, Jessica Barr award winner, received great exposure for her design in both local and international media. Being involved in live projects like this gives students a true reflection of how their skills can be applied professionally prior to graduation from Robert Gordon University."

The Offshore Achievement Awards are open to entries from all UK-registered companies. Last year the awards were opened up to offshore renewables companies for the first time, reflecting the growing reach of this burgeoning industry. This year will again see awards open to renewables companies as well as the traditional oil and gas players.

The deadline to enter is 1st December, with awards being presented on Thursday March 21, 2013. Following last year’s sell out event, the black tie ceremony will move to a bigger location at Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.