Two new categories for Offshore Achievement Awards

September 2013

The Society of Petroleum Engineers Aberdeen Section has announced two new categories for this year's Offshore Achievement Awards, which launch on 1 October.

The awards, which are supported by principal sponsor TAQA, have a 27-year history of celebrating outstanding success and innovations in the oil and gas industry.

The new categories have been introduced to open up the awards to an even wider range of potential entrants.

The Inspiring Leader award recognises someone who has inspired their team, either in a mentorship capacity or as a manager, to deliver an outstanding result.

The Environmentalist award will celebrate exceptional environmental performance by a company, either through its overall contribution or how its technology has reduced the environmental impact in the industry.

Ian Phillips, director of business consultancy Pale Blue Dot Energy Limited, and the SPE board member responsible for organising the OAAs, said:

"The Offshore Achievement Awards are the primary forum for celebrating the very best in the offshore industry, from young professionals and emerging technologies through to safety advances and overall company performance.

"The two new categories allow us to further recognise the exceptional talent which is shaping the industry today. From the many entries we have seen over the last couple of years, it is clear that there is much to be celebrated in the offshore industry and the two new categories will help us to better recognise this."

Pete Jones, managing director of TAQA’s North Sea business, said:

"I am delighted that we will be supporting the 2014 awards and am particularly please than an event broader depth of talent will be recognised thanks to the introduction of the new categories."

"TAQA strives to be the leading operator in the North Sea, the best, so I’m very proud that we’re supporting these awards which recognise and celebrate the best people, innovations and successes our industry has to offer."

The awards are open for entries from UK-registered companies operating within either the renewables or the oil and gas industry.

Last year’s 27th annual awards ceremony took place at the AECC in Aberdeen and attracted a record attendance of 530 guests. The event was hosted by Scottish comedian Kevin Bridges. Graham Skinner from KCA Deutag Drilling picked up the trophy for Young Professional while Malcolm Webb, chief executive of Oil & Gas UK, received the Significant Achievement Award.

OAA 2014 categories are:

  • Export Achievement
  • Safety Innovations
  • Emerging Technology
  • The Innovator
  • Great Small Company
  • Great Large Company
  • Working Together
  • Young Professional
  • Significant Achievement
  • Inspiring Leader
  • Environmentalist

The awards will open for entries on 1 October, and will close on 2 December with judging taking place early in the New Year. The Black Tie awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, 20 March, next year at the AECC, Aberdeen.

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.