Winners Announced at 33rd Offshore Achievement Awards

March 2019

In its 33rd year, the Offshore Achievements Awards took place on 14 March with 11 category winners announced during an evening recognising talent, ambition and innovation. 

This year, the highly-anticipated Significant Contribution award winner was named as Denis Pinto, the industry-leading flow measurement and hydrocarbon allocations expert, who has been hugely influential in supporting and inspiring young people to consider a career in engineering.  

Two other individuals were lauded on the night; Mike Adams of Norwell EDGE as Young Professional and Ann Johnson, of Blaze Manufacturing Solutions Ltd, whose contribution to the industry was recognised in the Above and Beyond category. 

Other award winners included: Well-Sense Technology Ltd for Emerging Technology; Magma Global for Innovation; Iron Ocean Ltd for HSE Innovation and EXCEED for Export Achievement. KCA Deutag U.K., Weatherford U.K. and CNR International (U.K.) collectively won the award for Collaboration and Aquaterra Energy received the award for Outstanding Skills Development. Blaze Manufacturing Solutions Ltd was the victor in the Great Company (SME) category, whilst TWMA won Great Company (Large). 

Commenting on the awards ceremony, Chairman of SPE Aberdeen Section, Ian Philips said: 

“Huge congratulations go to each of this evening’s category winners; I never cease to be impressed by the work undertaken by exceptionally dedicated, talented people across the UK offshore sector. 
“As ever, the undeniably challenging judging process illustrated that our panel was equally as impressed with the quality of entries, and all shortlisted companies and individuals should be very proud of their finalist status.
“STEM initiatives, training and educational events aimed at inspiring the next generation are fundamentally important to SPE Aberdeen Section, and the success of this evening allows us to continue to provide a worthy level of support in these areas.
“Our commitment to inspire the next generations of oil and gas professionals is neatly reflected not only by the record number of entries received in the Young Professional Award category, but by our recognition of Denis Pinto as winner of Significant Contribution. A leading technical figure in our industry, Denis has also made it his duty to passionately and deeply engage with future generations of our workforce, encouraging interest in - and commitment to - the potential of the UK offshore energy sector.” 

Donald Taylor, managing director for TAQA’s European business, principal sponsor of the Awards said: 

“TAQA is a long-term supporter of the SPE Offshore Achievement Awards, and we’re pleased to once again be part of this great celebration.  It’s amazing to think that a year has passed since the 2018 event, but its’s also incredible to reflect on how much has been achieved in only a year, when we take stock of the fantastic achievements by each individual, team, and company shortlisted this year.  A huge thank you to everyone who took the time to submit an entry and well done to the winners.”  

Visit our finalists page for the full list of 2019 winners, as well as previous winners and finalists. 

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.