Winners announced at Offshore Achievement Awards 2018

March 2018

Winners of the 2018 Offshore Achievement Awards were announced last night in a celebration of industry talent, innovation and enthusiasm.

The winners were revealed to an audience of more than 450 people, with categories covering technology innovation, company performance and individual achievement across the UK offshore energy sector.

Ray Riddoch, UK managing director at Nexen was named this year’s Significant Contribution winner thanks to three decades of shaping and influencing the offshore energy industry. Other individual winners included John Fraser of Sparrows Group for Above & Beyond, Laura Steedman of BP for Young Professional and Alan Higgins, who received a Special Recognition Award for his efforts in education and promoting STEM subjects.

BiSN collected two awards on the night; the Innovator Award and the Great Company (SME) Award. Entier collected the Great Company (Large) accolade.

Further award winners included Guardian Global Technologies, Osbit Ltd, Coretrax Technology and Score (Europe) Ltd. Two winners were announced for the Collaboration Award - BP & Subsea 7 and Connected Competence.

SPE Aberdeen Section Awards were also presented to two members; Brenda Wyllie, for her transformation of the annual DEVEX conference and Graham Skinner, for his outstanding efforts visiting schools to promote careers in the energy industry.

Ian Phillips, chairman of SPE Aberdeen said: 

“Last night’s award ceremony showcased the impressive work by some very talented people in our industry and highlighted the importance of celebrating achievement in the UKCS.

“Award entries were received from across the UK, from over 100 companies involved in the offshore oil and gas and renewables sectors. This is an increase of more than 50% on last year, which is heartening and perhaps a sign of some recovery following the downturn.

“As ever, our judges had a considerable challenge when it came to selecting our winners, and I would like to extend my thanks and congratulations to all shortlisted companies and individuals. You can be justifiably proud that your success has been recognised by a knowledgeable group of industry peers.”

Significant Contribution winner, Ray Riddoch, said: 

“I am honoured to have received this year’s Significant Contribution Award. It is truly humbling to be recognised by SPE and my peers out of all the outstanding people we have working in this industry in Aberdeen.”

Donald Taylor, managing director at principal sponsor TAQA said: 

“The Offshore Achievement Awards are a fantastic opportunity to recognise and celebrate the successes of those businesses and individuals that are leading the way, as we look towards the future. 

“Once again the strength, creativity and ambition we continue to see in the oil and gas and renewable industries has shone through.  The winners include a diverse range of significant achievements; a clear demonstration of how much the industry is still driving forward, finding innovative solutions and efficiencies.”

View the full list of winners and finalists here

Interested in finding out more about the Aberdeen section, or would you like to get involved, then don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Share This Article:
SPE Aberdeen Section

The Offshore Achievement Awards

The Offshore Achievement Awards (OAAs) recognise outstanding achievements in the energy industry.